Congratulations, Joseph S. Colalillo

2018 Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Recipient

Joseph S. Colalillo is a food industry leader who has served as chairman and CEO of Wakefern Food Corp. since 2005, and as a member of its Board of Directors since 1989. As the merchandising and distribution arm for ShopRite stores, Wakefern is the largest retailer-owned cooperative in the country and one of the largest employers in New Jersey. Prior to becoming chairman, Joe served as the company’s vice chairman from 1999 to 2005.

A second-generation grocer and Wakefern cooperative member, Joe is also president of ShopRite of Hunterdon County, a family-owned business founded in the late 1940’s by his father, Joseph A. Colalillo. The Colalillo family owns and operates five ShopRite stores located in Flemington, Greenwich and Clinton, NJ; and Yardley and Bethlehem, PA. ShopRite of Hunterdon County employs more than 1,800 associates across all its ShopRite stores in New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

Mr. Colalillo earned Scouting’s highest youth award in 1976, the rank of Eagle Scout.

Please join us as we honor and celebrate Joseph S. Colalillo on Thursday, October 11, 2018, where we will present him with the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award.

Thursday, October 11, 2018
6:30 PM
Sergeantsville Volunteer Fire Co.
761 Sergeantsville Road
Sergeantsville, NJ
"In short, Distinguished Eagle Scouts are those that have risen to the top of their avocation or vocation at a national level."
Rick Bragga
Vice-President of the National Eagle Scout Association

Washington Crossing Council Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Committee

Joseph Sheridan, Chairman
Senator Pat Toomey, Honorary Chairman
Leonard Lance, Honorary Chairman
Paula Boss
Joseph Cowhey
Faith Cust
Jack Cust

Linda Doherty
Wanda Esteves
Stan Hall
Steve Kalafer
Steve Prusienski
Heidi Rohrbach
Ray Vanden Berghe
Robert Wise

Honoring Eagle Scouts on the National Level

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or demonstrated eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. It is NESA’s highest honor.

Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination.

Since its establishment in 1969, the DESA has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Previous recipients include President Gerald R. Ford, several governors and senators, military flag officers, university presidents, chief executive officers of Fortune 500 companies, and nationally known lawyers, educators, and doctors.

The selection of recipients is made by the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Committee, comprised of members who are also DESA recipients. Not all nominations acted upon by the award committee are approved.

Purchase Your Tickets Online

The financial data is summarized from the financial statements which are audited by EisnerAmper LLP. Audited financial statements will be available at the Council Service Center after July 1, 2018. The Washington Crossing Council, Boy Scouts of America is tax exempt under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Service code. Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. The official registration and financial information of Washington Crossing Council, Boy Scouts of America may be obtained from the Pennsylvania Department of State by calling toll-free, within Pennsylvania, 1-800-732-0999. Registration does not imply endorsement.