Congratulations, Joseph S. Colalillo

2018 Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Recipient

Joseph S. Colalillo serves as the Chairman and CEO of Wakefern Food Corporation and is a leading advocate for the food retail industry. Mr. Colalillo has been credited with helping develop consumer-facing technologies, initiating seafood sustainability programs, cultivating associate engagement, and implementing health and wellness solutions in Shoprite stores. A second generation grocer, he is President of Shoprite Stores of Hunterdon, a family business founded in 1958 by his father, Joseph A. Colalillo. The Wakefern Food Corporation owns five Shoprite stores in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Colalillo is an entrepreneur and industry leader who helps businesses better serve their customers. He is a dedicated family man who has responded generously to support community events and activities with time, resources, and financial assistance.

Mr. Colalillo earned Scouting’s highest youth award in 1976, the rank of Eagle Scout.

Please join us as we honor and celebrate Joseph S. Colalillo on Thursday, October 11, 2018 where we will present him the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award.

Thursday, October 11, 2018
6:30 PM
Sergeantsville Volunteer Fire Co.
761 Sergeantsville Road
Sergeantsville, NJ
"In short, Distinguished Eagle Scouts are those that have risen to the top of their avocation or vocation at a national level."
Rick Bragga
Vice-President of the National Eagle Scout Association

Washington Crossing Council Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Committee

Joseph Sheridan, Chairman
Senator Pat Toomey, Honorary Chairman
Leonard Lance, Honorary Chairman
Paula Boss
Joseph Cowhey
Faith Cust
Jack Cust

Linda Doherty
Wanda Esteves
Stan Hall
Steve Kalafer
Steve Prusienski
Heidi Rohrbach
Ray Vanden Berghe
Robert Wise

Honoring Eagle Scouts on the National Level

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or demonstrated eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. It is NESA’s highest honor.

Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination.

Since its establishment in 1969, the DESA has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Previous recipients include President Gerald R. Ford, several governors and senators, military flag officers, university presidents, chief executive officers of Fortune 500 companies, and nationally known lawyers, educators, and doctors.

The selection of recipients is made by the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award Committee, comprised of members who are also DESA recipients. Not all nominations acted upon by the award committee are approved.

Purchase Your Tickets Online

The financial data is summarized from the financial statements which are audited by EisnerAmper LLP. Audited financial statements will be available at the Council Service Center after July 1, 2018. The Washington Crossing Council, Boy Scouts of America is tax exempt under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Service code. Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. The official registration and financial information of Washington Crossing Council, Boy Scouts of America may be obtained from the Pennsylvania Department of State by calling toll-free, within Pennsylvania, 1-800-732-0999. Registration does not imply endorsement.